Carnegie Peacebuilding Conversations

Susanne Wirwille



Head of the Strategy and Policy Section in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Science & Technology Organization

Dr. Susanne Wirwille is a strategically-focused scientist and senior executive with over 25 years of experience in defence science and technology (S&T), management, S&T strategy and policy, studies and analyses. She earned a Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Southern California, and earned a Bachelor’s of Science degree in both Physics and Chemistry from Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, California. She currently serves as the Head of the Strategy and Policy Section in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Science & Technology Organization.  Her responsibilities include leadership in developing and managing NATO S&T strategic guidance and plans, strategic S&T initiatives, strategic assessments, and S&T policies and directives.

Dr. Wirwille has served in various capacities in government, industry and academia. The events of September 11, 2001 served as the impetus for her to dramatically change her career path from academia and industry to directly serve the military.  She has worked around the globe with scientific, technical and operational experts.  She values innovative approaches and strives to develop environments for in-depth dialogue and creative problem-solving in order to improve safety, security and defence.

For 14 years, Dr. Wirwille worked in industry, at which time she conducted research and developed superconducting and quantum devices for space and undersea applications at TRW’s Space and Technology Division.  She also worked in academia as an instructor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Southern California, where she taught physics courses and supervised laboratory research.

Dr. Wirwille holds a patent in semiconductor/superconductor infrared circuits, has published numerous scientific papers, and has received the Distinguished Public Service Award in 2014 from the Chairman of the US Joint Chiefs of Staff and U.S. Navy Superior Civilian Service Awards in 2010 and 2006.

Back to speakers list
Back to parallel sessions round 1